I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Handloom Textiles & Sericulture



    To develop the handloom activities in an organized way the concept of Handloom Weavers’ Cooperative Society was introduced in the State under the Assam Cooperative Societies Act, 1949, Act -1 of 1951. A three tire cooperative system was formed as (i) Apex Level Society, (ii) Regional Level/District Level Society and (iii) Primary Weavers Cooperative Society. During January, 1985 the Cooperation Department, Govt. of Assam had shifted the responsibility of Registration, Audit, Inspection, Management etc. of Handloom Cooperative Societies to the Director, Handloom & Textiles, Assam designated as Ex-Officio, Additional Registrar of Cooperative Societies (Handloom) as per provision of the Act. The Cooperation Department had also transferred 3 Senior Inspector/Auditors and 24 Junior Inspector/Auditors to this Directorate. The cooperative section officers organize, make inspection and audit of the Societies regularly and also guide the societies to hold the Annual General Meeting in time.

    Apex Level Handloom Cooperative Society :

    There is only one Apex Level Handloom Cooperative Society under the Directorate in the State. It is the Assam Apex Weavers and Artisans Cooperative Federation Ltd. (ARTFED). A Board of Directors runs the management and business of the ARTFED as per provision of the Bye Laws. The basic business of ARTFED is to supply yarns to the member Primary Cooperative Societies, to procure finished products of hand woven fabrics from them and to sale out the products through their established show rooms inside and outside the State.

    Apart from this, the ARTFED is also eligible to implement different schemes of Govt. of India and State Govt. for development and marketing promotion of the hand woven products of the weavers of the State.

    Name of the Society: Assam Apex Weavers and Artisans Cooperative Federation Limited.

    Regional Level/District Level Handloom Cooperative Society :

    In the State of Assam there are two Regional Level Societies and Five District Level Societies are functioning as per Special Audit report. The procedure of business of these societies are similar to that of the Apex Society but confined only to the respective region and district.

    Sl. No.Name of the SocietyCategory of the Society
    1Suwansiri Valley Regional Handloom Cooperative Society Ltd., Lakhimpur.Regional Level
    2N C Hills Tribal Regional handloom Cooperative Society Ltd., Dima Hasao.Regional Level
    3Dhemaji District Handloom Cooperative Society LimitedDistrict Level
    4Morigaon District handloom Cooperative Society LtdDistrict Level
    5Nalbari District Central Handloom Cooperative Society Ltd.District Level
    6Karimganj District Central Handloom Cooperative Society LimitedDistrict Level
    7Hailakandi District Central Handloom Cooperative Society LimitedDistrict Level

    Primary Weavers Cooperative Society :

    There are about 4012 nos. of Primary Weavers Cooperative Societies (PWCS) registered under the Directorate in the State. Each society has a minimum of 100 weaver members. These societies are involved directly in production of handloom fabrics. The society is run by a Managing Committee consisting of 15 members as per provision of the Bye Law under amended Assam Cooperative Act, 2007. The Managing Committee is headed by an elected President. A Secretary is appointed by the Committee to execute the resolutions taken in the Committee meeting.

    As per Special Audit of the PWCS conducted during 2012-2013, about 1988 PWCS has been identified as in functioning status. As a result there are 1995 Handloom Weavers Cooperative Societies (1988 PWCS + 7 RWCS/DWCS) and one Apex Handloom Cooperative Society are in function.

    Sl. No.Name of the DistrictNumber of Society
    1Kamrup (Metro)69 Nos.
    2Kamrup (Rural)200 Nos.
    3Morigaon74 Nos.
    4Nagaon96 Nos.
    5Karbi Anglong71 Nos.
    6Golaghat62 Nos.
    7Jorhat53 Nos.
    8Sivasagar76 Nos.
    9Dibrugarh30 Nos.
    10Tinsukia37 Nos.
    11Dhemaji170 Nos.
    12Lakhimpur189 Nos.
    13Sonitpur60 Nos.
    14Udalguri47 Nos.
    15Darrang68 Nos.
    16Nalbari128 Nos.
    17Barpeta69 Nos.
    18Bongaigaon25 Nos.
    19Kokrajhar111 Nos.
    20Baksa27 Nos.
    21Chirrang3 Nos.
    22Dhubri72 Nos.
    23Goalpara46 Nos.
    24Cachar35 Nos.
    25Karimganj91 Nos.
    26Hailakandi60 Nos.
    27Dima Hasao19 Nos.
     TOTAL1988 Nos.